top of page

  ABOUT - FORTSETZUNG  

Two, four, no, countless swifts in the bright, deep blue late afternoon sky above the roofs of Linguaglossa in Sicily. They have returned from Africa in the last few days. A whole life in the air. Never a step on the ground. Today the last day of March 2019, it's 17:45. Silence, even in the village. A starling calls long-drawn out, it also has its winter quarters on my roof. The laurel is in bloom. During the day, when the sun shines, it is full of buzzing bees. Here and there a pigeon flies by in a hurry. And I hear the short chagg of the jackdaws that live in the holes in the wall. 

 

Cats, there is always one running towards me, Tigitigi is another foundling from Switzerland. Dogs, ten in number, all from Linguaglossa, from the street, from the bushes. Dana, Fiar, Cetti, Leon and his foster mother Trente, Cesare and his sister Rosy and their friends Emma & Tina. Countless, thousands of oaks on 20 hectares of land, many sweet chestnuts, dozens of elms, nine black pines, four pines. Holm oak, wild cherry, sorbus, a maple, about 500 olive trees, hazel bushes, fig and almond trees, pear and apple trees. A pomegranate bush. Quinces, medlars, tree nuts, cherries, apricots. Mulberries. Prickly pear cactus. Tangerines, and now lemons and kiwis.

 

Immersion in the old cultivated landscape with its mountains terraced from the valley to the highest crest, overgrown mule tracks paved with stones, crumbling wine presses. After the war, the steep, labour-intensive land was abandoned. Many emigrated, to the canton of Aargau in Switzerland, to Australia.

Sicily, the magic inherent in the place and in the word. Archaic and anarchic despite EU-firnis, rough, wild, beautiful. It's a long story.

bottom of page

ABOUT - FORTSETZUNG  

Zwei, vier, nein, ungezählte Mauersegler am leuchtenden, tiefblau- en Spätnachmittaghimmel über den Dächern von Linguaglossa in Sizilien. In den letzten Tagen sind sie aus Afrika zurückgekehrt. Ein ganzes Leben in der Luft. Nie ein Schritt auf dem Boden. Heute der letzte Tag im März 2019, es ist 17:45. Stille, auch im Dorf. Ein Star ruft langgezogen, er hat auch sein Winterquartier auf meinem Dach. Der Lorbeer blüht. Tagsüber, wenn die Sonne scheint, ist er voller summender Bienen. Hier und da fliegt eilig eine Taube vorbei. Und ich höre das kurze Tschagg der Turmdohlen, die in den Mauerlöchern hausen. 

Katzen, immer läuft wieder eine zu, Tigitigi ist noch eine Findelkatze aus der Schweiz. Hunde, zehn an der Zahl, aus Linguaglossa alle, von der Strasse, aus den Büschen. Dana, Fiar, Cetti, Leon und seine Ziehmutter Trente, Cesare und seine Schwester Rosy und die Freundinnen Emma & Tina. Ungezählte, tausende Eichen auf 20 Hektare Land, viele Edelkastanien, Dutzende Ulmen, neun Schwarzföhren, vier Pinien. Steineiche, Wilde Kirsche, Sorbus, ein Ahorn, etwa 500 Olivenbäume, Haselsträucher, Feigen- und Mandelbäume, Birn- und Apfelbäume. Ein Granatapfelstrauch. Quitten, Mispeln, Baumnüsse, Kirschen, Aprikosen. Maulbeeren. Feigenkaktus. Mandarinen, und nun auch Zitronen und Kiwi.

Das Eintauchen in die alte Kulturlandschaft mit ihren vom Tal bis zur höchsten Krete terrassierten Bergen, zugewachsene, mit Steinen gepflasterte Maultierpfade, zerfallende Weinpressen. Nach dem Krieg wurde das steile, arbeitsintensive Land verlassen. Ausgewandert sind viele, in den Kanton Aargau in der Schweiz, nach Australien.

Sizilien, die Magie, die dem (W)ort innewohnt. Archaisch und anarchisch trotz EU-Firnis, rau, wild, schön. Eine lange Geschichte.